I Refuse To Be Religious

23Mar11

So, a lot of people ask me what religion I am. I choose not to subscribe to any label, but if I had to say I was something, I am agnostic. I won’t worship anyone or anything, I won’t follow any set of rules, and I definitely won’t live my life for someone else. That being said, I would like to talk about Christians. I know many people who are Christian, including some of my closest friends and my parents.

The ones that I know don’t fit into this category that I’m about to talk about, so if you’re reading this, ignore it. Most Christians I have met in my life are complete hypocrites. You go to church, you pray for shit you want, and then the rest of your week you treat people like shit and do whatever the hell you want. Going to church does not overcompensate for your horrible actions like you believe it does. I don’t believe in religion, but if you’re going to tell everyone you’re religious, then act that way all the time.

Another thing, Christians always feel like they have to ‘turn people.’ Why do you do this? If I’m going to believe in god and follow him, shouldn’t I do it in my own way and on my own time? Isn’t it kinda of beside the point if I only decide to worship because you told me to? Stop trying to get everyone to believe in what you believe. It’s MY choice whether or not I want to believe in something. At my age, in the society we live in, I’ve obviously heard this all before, and I still don’t agree with it. So, leave me alone and live your own life.

Here are some things about Christianity that I do not agree with:

1.) No sex before marriage. Okay, I’m still a virgin, so I really don’t care if I have sex right now. But in my opinion, if I meet someone and I fall in love with him, I shouldn’t have to wait. What if I have personal reasons for not wanting to get married? On the other hand, from what I’ve heard, sex is a huge part of marriage. If you don’t like having sex with that person, why would you want to be married to them? This is something I need to know beforehand.
2.) Homosexuals are banned! Really? God made men and women. Gay people were BORN gay. They didn’t just decide one day to like people of the same sex. Therefore, doesn’t god make people to be gay? So why is it so shameful?
3.) Asking for forgiveness. Why do I need to ask anyone to forgive me? I make mistakes, I learn from them. If you don’t want to forgive me, then go fuck yourself.
4.) Speaking of fucking yourself, why is masturbation a sin? Especially if I can’t have sex before I’m married? It’s bullshit! I only know a handful of people who don’t ‘pleasure’ themselves. I don’t even know one dude who doesn’t. It’s a fact of life, get over it.
5.) Why is it god’s choice whether or not I go to heaven or hell? Honestly, I would definitely go to hell if it were up to him. According to the bible, I’m just an awful person. But in my terms, I’m an amazing person. I try my best to do what’s right, I learn from my mistakes, and I’m compassionate to others. So I say goddamnit a lot, and I eat way too much for my own good. Who really gives a shit? I mean, I’m only destructive to myself, why do you care?

There are many other things I disagree with, but this post would never end. But here are some things about various religions that I do believe in:

1.) Yes, I believe when I die, I will be reincarnated. My soul will jump out of my body to go live as another human or animal or plant. Each life you live changes depending on the life you endured in the past.
2.) Karma is a bitch. Common sense, I know. But I do believe that your actions have either good or bad consequences. If you help someone or something, another person will help you when you need it. If you’re an ass to everyone all the time, this world won’t show you pity.
3.) Everything happens for a reason, and everyone has a purpose. Whether or not you think it’s fair, it is true. When my grandma got cancer, I told her there was a reason. She looked at me like I was the devil. But I told her, I’m not sure of the reason, but it’s possible that it has happened so you can learn to take care of yourself and stop doing everything for others.

Thanks for listen to me ramble,

— Sarah Tyler Deen

10 Responses to “I Refuse To Be Religious”

  1. The thing that I have found so hard about some religious people is thier “alleged certainty”, i.e. I know I’m right because……., Since we know this is true……, It’s Obvious that……..

    It makes it really hard on the rest of us because we have to spend a lot of time fending off false doctrines that don’t make any sense. I try to make sense of it and that requires listening to others that may not even be an example the “Good Life”. Many people are in fact leading some life of conviction. I think this is you. Thanks. Carry on

  2. Obviously you know Ima Christian. I think your first paragraph was very insightful. I know a lot Christians that are that way… some that were very close to me. I differ with you on most of the last half but I think your straightforward and no nonesense approach is understandable and good for any Christian to read. This is people’s image of most of them. Thanks STD 😀

    • I appreciate that you didn’t reply telling me how dumb I am. And it wasn’t to say anything bad about the Christians who actually follow through with what they say. I think it’s amazing that you and other people can believe so intensely in something, and I’m actually sort of jealous.

  3. The ones that scare me (of any religion) are the ones who basically, “The Bible [or whatever book] says it, I believe, that settles it.”

    If you do believe in god, then he/she/them/it gave you a brain. Maybe you’re supposed to use it.

    Certainly, many many many religious people are not like that at all, but sometimes it seems like the ones who are like that are taking over.

    • No, it’s true. I mean, when people try to convert me, I’ll ask them questions. “Well, the bible says this..” Fuck you, I don’t give a shit what the bible says, I want to know what YOU THINK!

      • I had a friend who had really studied the Bible, but he was not religious (I’d call him “spiritual,” I guess, not about to join any one religion. When the “Jesus Freaks” (as we used to call them) would try to convert him, he’d start quoting Bible verses to them, and he always knew the Bible better than they did. They just knew the parts they’d been given in pamphlets and so on. It always made me laugh.

  4. Great post! I also refuse to subscribe to the indoctrines of the relgious soceity! In grade school I refused to stand for the Lords prayer (which was said daily) I made such a fuss that I was sent to the prinicipals office. When asked why I refuse this, I told them that I don’t belive in this God. For the remainder of the year I was sent out into the hall when the prayer was played over the loud speakers. I sat with my hands over my ears. 🙂 Happy BLogging. You’ve won a subscriber.

  5. really insightful, I do agree about people trying to convert others. If I decide I want to find God, i want it to be for MYSELF, not because some lady ran over to me on the street and tells me that I need help :/
    Religion is a personal choice.


Leave a Reply

