Old Poem: #2

11Mar11

Stronger Than I Thought by Sarah Tyler Deen

 

I always thought if things ended, I’d be crushed under a bus, not able to get out.
But after everything that has happened, I’ve grown my own security blanket.
I have a shield around my whole heart, nothing can hurt it anymore.
I am now aware that really all I need is me, nobody else.
I can get through it all as long as I believe in myself.

I did cry once, only for the memories we shared.
Apart from that, I will never shed a tear over you.
If you’re dying, feel free to call me.
If you’re in a crisis, in real danger, I’ll be there to help.
Don’t contact me about your insignificant complications.
I won’t expect you to help me with mine.

Your place in my heart will always be sealed, as every other person’s is.
I will never forget you, or any moment we experienced together.
All I’m trying to convey is that in a way, I’m happy with your decision.
I sort of needed it to happen.

I just desired the concept of our relationship so much.
It got into my head. I thought you were my drug;
The thing I was so addicted to, something I thought I could never live without.
Good thing I was wrong, good thing my daddy taught me to be strong.
I’ll always be there when you truly need me.
I hope your life turns out better than it has;
I hope you find that special someone to really share your heart;
I hope you get a job and have your own life;
I hope you realize how great you are;
Most of all, I hope you start defending yourself, and stop letting people abuse you
And take advantage of you.

Good luck, farewell, Iloveyou.

 

(Also, I’m going to start posting ‘Shit My Grandma Says’)

No Responses Yet to “Old Poem: #2”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

