My favorite memory

13Feb11

Here goes, get the tissues ready… It was my entire life, but only the moments spent with my father. We became best friends the day I was born in 1992. The second he held me, we fell in love. When I was older, I’d wait all day for my dad to get home just so I could hug him. I’d wake up before him just so I could see him before he went to work. My first day of school, I wasn’t one of those kids who cried and wrapped themselves around their mommy. I was relieved to go to school, so finally I would have something to keep my mind off of him being gone all day. On weekends, I remember he would do projects around the house: new tile, new fence, dig a pool, mow the lawn, fix his truck; I would always be right there by his side. He’d always give me little things to do so I’d feel important. He always let me help with whatever he did, because he wanted to hang out with me just as much as I with him. And then, of course, I got a little bit older… I drifted away, I decided my friends were more important. I didn’t spend much time with him anymore. He said he was fine with it because, after all, it’s just a part of growing up. But then one day, I was 15-years-old, I came home from school and the worst thing was happening. It was something that would change my life forever. My dad, the pride and joy of my entire existence, was leaving. They were all packing his car, without giving me any notice; no time to prepare. I asked if I could stay the night with him at his new place. Him and my mom said of course, and him and I left. We went to get food first, but after we got back into the car, the best and worst thing happened. He started talking to me about how much he loved me, how much he always will, and he starts crying. The strongest person I’ve ever known was crying! I didn’t know what to do. It broke my heart that he was that upset; but it also changed our relationship. I never really understood how much he cared for me until that point. He was crying because he was leaving me, because we wouldn’t see each other as much. Ever since, he’s not only my buddy, but the closest and most important thing to me. I would literally give anything, do anything in this world just to see him smile. I’ve thought about his death quite a lot… It’s not coming any time soon… but I think about it. Since I’m spilling my guts here, I will tell you that I don’t think I’ll make it without him. I’ve always had suicidal tendencies… the only thing ever holding me back was him. He’s the only reason for me to continue to breathe.

This is kind of long, but I hope it was worth the read.

— Sarah Tyler Deen

5 Responses to “My favorite memory”

  1. 1 Slik

    Very heart-felt! 🙂

  2. My daughter could’ve written this. We went throught the exact same thing together 8 years ago. It’s a shame things like this have to happen in life, but they do. You’re dad loves you more than anything on the planet, believe me.


Leave a Reply

